A vegetarian diet consists of foods of plant origin only, and no meat, fish, eggs or animal products. There are four types of vegetarians:
- Ovolactovegetarians – Diet consists of plant foods, along with eggs ,milk and milk products.
- Lactovegetarians – This diet consists of plant foods , supplemented with milk and milk products.
- Pure vegetarians or vegans – Eat all foods of plant origin.
- Fruitarians – These vegetarians consume raw or dried foods, nuts and honey and olive oil. They may supplement their diets with legumes and grains.